Alphonse Meurger: Musician, Composer, Publisher (digital edition)

Alphonse Meurger: Musician, Composer, Publisher (digital edition)

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

Alphonse Meurger, also known as Meurger le jeune, active in the 1810s and 1820s in the north of France and in Belgium, was well known as an organist, music teacher, music publisher and especially as the composer of a large number of light songs with guitar accompaniment. This study sketches an outline of the musician’s life and offers a first inventory of his compositions. As most of Meurger’s music was published in the music journals of the time, some published by the composer himself, those periodicals also are an object of this study.

(56 pages)

The Author

Jan Burgers is an historian who until his retirement held positions at the University of Amsterdam and the Huygens Institute for the History of the Netherlands. He has done intensive research on the lute and early romantic guitar, resulting in studies on the Lute in the Dutch Golden Age (Amsterdam 2013) and Francesco Molino (to be published soon), as well as editions of lute sources and of Collected Works of the lute composers John Johnson, Francis Cutting, Joachim van den Hove, Johannes Fresneau and Ernst Gottlieb Baron.



  • Introduction
  • Biography
  • The musician
  • Compositions
  • Works in musical journals
  • Signature stamps
  • Collaboration between publishers: sharing compositions and plates
  • Conclusion
  • Appendices
Product CodeDGA-204-ebook
Product TypeDigital Edition - download only

This field is required.