J. K. Mertz Op.32 (digital edition)

J. K. Mertz Op.32 (digital edition)

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

This is the first edition of virtuoso guitarist and composer J. K. Mertz’s Divertissement über Motive der Oper: Der Prophet (Meyerbeer), Op. 32since its original publication in 1851. The work is a charming selection of themes from Giacomo Meyerbeer’s opera Le prophète expertly arranged for violin or flute, viola, and guitar. It is of moderate difficulty and represents Mertz’s only known extant work for this instrumentation. The present edition includes biographies of Mertz and Meyerbeer, suggestions concerning performance practice, and both a facsimile and an urtext edition of this long out-of-print chamber work.

(Edited by Brian Torosian, 42 pages with included flute and viola parts, digital edition includes cover art)

Brian Torosian
Brian Torosian is an active soloist and chamber musician on guitar, lute, and mandolin who has performed in concerts throughout North America. In addition to completing doctoral studies at Northwestern University with Anne Waller, Dr. Torosian studied with Oscar Ghiglia during the summer months of 1994-1996 at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena, Italy where he received Diplomas of Merit and an honorary scholarship. Furthermore, he has taken numerous master classes with Eliot Fisk, Paul O'dette, Pepe Romero, Manuel Barrueco, Robert Guthrie, Sérgio and Odair Assad, David Starobin, Mark Maxwell, Nigel North, Eduardo Fernandez, and David Russell as well as early music and continuo studies with preeminent keyboard artist David Schrader.

Besides performing on the standard six-string guitar, Torosian also concertizes on replicas of a Baroque guitar, a Terz guitar, and a 10-string guitar, the latter two made for him by Richard Bruné after rare mid-nineteenth-century Viennese instruments.

  • J. K. Mertz (1806-1856)
  • Giacomo Meyerbeer (1791-1864)
  • Le Prophète and Mertz's Meyerbeer Arrangements
  • Identification of Themes
  • Commentary
  • Performance Practice
  • Score
  • Guitar Part
  • Facsimile of Original Edition
Product CodeDGA-106-ebook
Product TypeDigital Edition - download only

This field is required.