J. K. Mertz Opern-Revue, Op. 8 Nos. 33-38 Volume V (digital edition)

J. K. Mertz Opern-Revue, Op. 8 Nos. 33-38 Volume V (digital edition)

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

  This series presents for the first time the complete Opern-Revue, a collection of 38 fantasies for solo guitar that include some of the world's most beloved operatic themes. Expertly arranged by the virtuoso guitarist and composer J. K. Mertz, Opern-Revue represents one of the most expansive collections of its kind from the nineteenth century. The present edition provides facsimile reproductions of the original Haslinger and Ricordi first editions, allowing the guitarist direct access to the scores published in Mertz's time. 

Opern-Revue provides the modern guitarist with a vast repertoire of concert works based on the music of Bellini, Donizetti, Verdi, Weber, Meyerbeer, Rossini, and many others. Wagner and Offenbach, two composers less common in nineteenth-century guitar music, are represented in arrangements by several of Mertz's successors. The DGA Editions Opern-Revue series commemorates the bicentennial birthday anniversary of J. K. Mertz with these volumes.

(Edited by Brian Torosian, 122 pages, digital edition includes cover art)


Brian Torosian
Brian Torosian is an active soloist and chamber musician on guitar, lute, and mandolin who has performed in concerts throughout North America. In addition to completing doctoral studies at Northwestern University with Anne Waller, Dr. Torosian studied with Oscar Ghiglia during the summer months of 1994-1996 at the Accademia Musicale Chigiana in Siena, Italy where he received Diplomas of Merit and an honorary scholarship. Furthermore, he has taken numerous master classes with Eliot Fisk, Paul O'dette, Pepe Romero, Manuel Barrueco, Robert Guthrie, Sérgio and Odair Assad, David Starobin, Mark Maxwell, Nigel North, Eduardo Fernandez, and David Russell as well as early music and continuo studies with preeminent keyboard artist David Schrader. 

Besides performing on the standard six-string guitar, Torosian also concertizes on replicas of a Baroque guitar, a Terz guitar, and a 10-string guitar, the latter two made for him by Richard Bruné after rare mid-nineteenth-century Viennese instruments.

  • Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor von Othon Nicolai, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 33
  • Der fliegende Holländer von Richard Wagner, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 34
  • Die Hochzeit bei Laternenschein von J. Offenbach, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 35
  • Orpheus in der Hölle von J. Offenbach, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 36
  • Fortunios Lied von Offenbach, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 37
  • Herr und Madame Denis von Offenbach, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 38
  • Rigoletto di Verdi, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 21
  • Il Trovatore di Verdi, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 27
  • La Traviata di Verdi, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 29
  • I Vespri Siciliani di Verdi, Opern-Revue, Op. 8, No. 31
Product CodeDGA-105-ebook
Product TypeDigital Edition - download only

This field is required.