J. N. de Bobrowicz Selected Works Volume I: Variations (digital edition)

J. N. de Bobrowicz Selected Works Volume I: Variations (digital edition)

Tap to enlarge


Product Information

Jan Nepomucen de Bobrowicz (1805-1881) was a student of Mauro Giuliani and a composer of much ingenuity. The 10 works presented in this volume represent all known variation works published between 1832 and 1837. Many of these compositions have not been published in modern times.

In honor of the 200th anniversary of Bobrowicz' birth the insightful introduction by Krzysztof Komarnicki is presented in both English and Polish. The introduction offers a historical and musical appreciation of this demanding, yet beautiful music. We hope all guitarists come to recognize Bobrowicz as one of the great masters of the guitar and share his music with audiences worldwide.

(Introduction by Krzysztof Komarnicki, edited by Robert Coldwell, 98 pages, digital edition includes cover art)

Krzysztof Komarnicki
Polish musicologist and guitarist. His main areas of interest are guitar music of Classical-Romantic period and theory of musical form. He studied guitar with Ireneusz Strachocki, Krzysztof Panuciak and Roberto Porroni. Performs in chamber ensembles. He writes extensively on music by such composers as Jan Nepomucen Bobrowicz, Mauro Giuliani, Fryderyk Chopin, Robert Schumann, Franz Liszt and others. Developed a theory of Sonata Form (expressed in Ph.D dissertation "Sonata Form and Sonata Cycle in Guitar Music 1780-1830; Warsaw University 2001; in Polish).


  • Op. 6, Grandes Variations sur un Duo de l'Opera: Don Juan
  • Op. 7, Air d'Ukraine varié
  • Op. 10, Variations brillantes sur un Thême original
  • Op. 12, l'Impromptu Variations
  • Op. 13, Introduction Variations et Polonoise sur un Thême original des Tiroliens
  • Op. 16, Variations sur la Cavatine favorite: (Sorte secondami) de l'Opéra Zelmira, de Rossini
  • Op. 18, Variations sur une Valse favorite
  • Op. 20, Introduction et Variations sur l'Air polonais: Ja ciebie nie zapomne
  • Op. 28, Variations de bravoure sur un Thême de Carafa "Oh! cara memoria"
  • Op. 30, Variations et Polonaise sur un Duo de l'Opera i Montecchi e Capuleti
Product CodeDGA-201-ebook
Product TypeDigital Edition - download only

This field is required.